Entry Date

2023.03.30

Mood

Sleepy

Present Goals

Working at website stuff under the hood.

Currently Playing

Splatoon 3

FFXIV | Valentione Sweepstakes

Last month I decided to toss my hat into the ring for the Final Fantasy XIV community's official screenshot sweepstakes, themed after Valentine's day. And... I won a prize!!

A screenshot with pink lighting. It features a hrothgar and a lalafell sitting outside, surrounded by plants. The hrothgar holds out their hand to the lalafell sitting on the bench, who is eating a large chocolate heart with a cute pout.

Featuring my dear partner, who's been sticking it out with me since A Realm Reborn.

It's among a large crowd of winners, but I'm still pretty pleased about it!! I worked hard setting up the backdrop, and was determined to take a nice screenshot using just the in-game features. The prize I ended up going for was... the Cloud Strife hairstyle, to the bewilderment of my partner. ("You got the hairstyle?? You're sick.") [1]

Not that I'm particularly a huge fan of Final Fantasy VII or anything, I just think it's nice to have options hanging out in reserve! What if, someday, it complements a certain outfit really well?? I'll slap the bell and go, "Well, dang, it's a good thing I opted for this very specific hairdo back during that screenshot sweepstakes. This spikey silhouette is just what I needed."

That aside, I am concurrently working on side pages that are FFXIV-related as I organize site things in the background. Blog entries will likely still be in the usual spot here, since it's not something I'm gonna write a lot of individual posts about, but a side page will be nice for sectioning off an eventual New Game+ playthrough blog and things like glamours. I'm writing this note here so it becomes a little more real. I am speaking (typing) these into existence!


1For folks not aware of the current state of Final Fantasy XIV's races: it wasn't until last year that hrothgar were able to change hairstyles at all, despite having been added to the game in 2019. They are gradually gaining access to new 'dos, but it means I can't make use of this prize on my character at present. [Return]